Dalimara

Hire Filipino Nannies, Housekeepers, Caregivers and other Household Workers. Call toll-free (1-877)844-4180

Tuesday, June 4, 2013

POPE LEADS CATHOLICS IN FIRST WORLDWIDE 'HOLY HOUR' JUNE 9, 2013



Pope Francis led Roman Catholics on Sunday in the first worldwide "Holy Hour," in which participants prayed at the same time around the globe for those suffering from war, slave labor, human trafficking and the economic crisis.

The Vatican asked Catholics to join him between 5-6 p.m. Rome time (11.00 a.m.-12.00 p.m. ET) in what is known as a Eucharistic adoration - praying before a consecrated communion host.

They were asked to gather in cathedrals, neighborhood parishes and monasteries to pray for two general intentions penned by the pope, who prayed in St. Peter's Basilica.

One was for those "who still suffer slavery and who are victims of war, human trafficking, drug running and slave labor" as well as for the "unemployed, the elderly, migrants, the homeless, prisoners and those who experience marginalization".

The other was for the 1.2 billion member Church itself and that it be "without stain or blemish", an apparent allusion to scandals that have undermined its credibility, such as the sexual abuse of children by clergy.

A Vatican official said it was "the first time in the history of the Church" that such an event was taking place. The Vatican said it was impossible to estimate immediately how many people took part.

New York 6/9/13 Time 11am-12pm ET
California 6/9/13 Time 8am-9am
Texas 6/9/13 Time 10am-11am
Mexico City 6/9/13 Time 10am-11am
Brazil 6/9/13 Time 12nn-1pm
Australia 6/10/13 Time 1am-2am
New Zealand 6/10/13 Time 3am-4am
Philippines 6/9/13 Time 11pm-12mn
South Korea 6/9/13 12midningt - 6/10/13 1am
London 6/9/13 Time 4pm-5pm
France/Germany/Spain 6/9/13 Time 5pm-6pm
Saudi Arabia/Kuwait/Qatar 6/9/13 Time 6pm-7pm

Italy Travel Guide

No comments:

 
Sign up na Kabayan! http://blogsiteslist.com